Kevin Hoffman-USA TODAY Sports

McDermott, Parker highlight 2014 AP All-America teams

Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

With the 2014 college basketball season’s end looming on the horizon, the Associated Press  released their All-America teams on Monday and unless you’re a Wisconsin Badgers fan, you’re probably alright with the selections. None of Bo Ryan’s Badgers, despite their appearance in the Final Four, made the list. No, not even honorable mentions, which goes to show you how great a job he’s done in Madison

Three of the four teams in the Final Four have representatives on the list and to no one’s surprise, Creighton’s Doug McDermott was the only unanimous selection, receiving all 65 first-team votes followed by Duke’s freshman phenom Jabari Parker, who tallied 55 first-team votes.

New York and Canada had the most players represented on the three teams with three apiece while the American Athletic Conference had three members on the first-team.

Without further ado, here are the 2014 AP All-America teams.


Doug McDermott, Creighton, senior: 26.9 ppg, 7.0 rpg, 45.4 3-pt FG percentage

Jabari Parker, Duke, freshman: 19.3 ppg, 8.8 rpg

Russ Smith, Louisville, senior: 18.3 ppg, 3.4 rpg, 4.7 apg, 2.1 spg

Shabazz Napier, Connecticut, senior: 17.4 ppg, 5.9 rpg, 4.9 apg, 85.9 FT percentage

Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati, senior: 20.7 ppg, 4.4 rpg, 2.6 apg


Nick Johnson, Arizona, junior: 16.2 ppg, 4.0 rpg, 2.8 apg

Andrew Wiggins, Kansas, freshman: 17.4 ppg, 6.0 rpg

Nik Stauskas, Michigan, sophomore: 17.5 ppg, 3.1 rpg, 3.3 apg, 44.9 3-pt FG percentage

Melvin Ejim, Iowa State, senior: 18.1 ppg, 8.5 rpg, 50.6 FG percentage

T.J. Warren, NC State, senior: 24.8 ppg, 7.1 rpg, 52.5 FG percentage


Cleanthony Early, Wichita State, senior: 15.8 ppg, 5.9 rpg, 2.0 apg

Kyle Anderson, UCLA, sophomore: 14.9 ppg, 8.8 rpg, 6.6 apg

Julius Randle, Kentucky, freshman: 15.0 ppg, 10.5 rpg, 50.2 FG percentage

C.J. Fair, Syracuse, senior: 16.7 ppg, 6.2 rpg

Scottie Wilbekin, Florida, senior: 13.0 ppg, 2.6 rpg, 3.8 apg, 1.7 spg


DeAndre Kane, Iowa State; Adreian Payne, Michigan State; Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State; Fred VanVleet, Wichita State.

A freshman (Parker), junior (Johnson), and two seniors (McDermott and Smith) are the four finalists for the 2014 Naismith Trophy Men’s College Player of the Year with the winner to be announced on April 6.

Tags: AP All-American Doug Mcdermott Jabari Parker

comments powered by Disqus