NCAA Basketball: Ranking teams in the 2019 Charleston Classic

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

LOUISVILLE, KY – MARCH 21: A detailed view of a basketball. (Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images)

The Charleston Classic has become one of the best tournaments in the country. Which NCAA basketball teams make up the 2019 edition?

ESPN has released the college basketball in-season tournament fields in recent days for all of its events. Now, I want to take a look at one of the best, yet somehow overlooked events: The Charleston Classic. 2019 will mark the 12th year for the event and while it may lack the prestige of Maui or the Battle for Atlantis, it always puts on a great three days of basketball.

This year’s event will take place on November 21st, 22nd, and 24th. Each team will play three games. The field will consist of Florida, Xavier, Miami (FL), Buffalo, Missouri State, Towson, Connecticut, and St. Joe’s. The official bracket can be found here.

2008 was the inaugural year for this event and the field was a bit thin. In the years following, though, it has hosted multiple power conference schools. An ACC school has won the event five times while the Big East has won it twice. No other conference has won the event more than once. Last season, Virginia Tech claimed the title over Purdue. This year will mark the third time that Miami (FL) will appear in the event. In its previous two appearances, they won the whole thing.

Previous winners of the event:

  • 2008-Clemson (ACC)
  • 2009-Miami (Fl) (ACC)
  • 2010-Georgetown (Big East)
  • 2011-Northwestern (Big Ten)
  • 2012-Colorado (Pac-12)
  • 2013-UMass (Atlantic 10)
  • 2014-Miami (Fl) (ACC)
  • 2015-Virginia (ACC)
  • 2016-Villanova (Big East)
  • 2017-Temple (American)
  • 2018-Virginia Tech (ACC)

This year’s Charleston Classic field is an interesting one. You have traditional powers in Florida and Xavier, a transitioning program in Buffalo, and potential under-the-radar team in Missouri State. This goes without mentioning perhaps the best offensive player in the tournament with Miami (FL) and Chris Lykes.

Now, let’s run down each team individually and rank them from worst to first and tell you why. Let’s get started.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse