Big East Basketball: Projecting each team’s key player production for 2021-22

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Paul Scruggs Xavier Big East Basketball Seton Hall Pirates Xavier Musketeers 22

Big East Basketball may have been indecisive when it came to their 2020-21 award winners, as they handed out three Player Of Year awards, two Defensive Player of the Year awards, and two Most Improved Player of the Year awards, all of this for a conference that is home to just eleven teams. The conference had four teams get an invite to the NCAA Division I Tournament as Connecticut and Georgetown lost in the first round while Creighton and Villanova lost in the ‘Sweet Sixteen’.

As such is the case every season, the actors in the Big East will change, but the narrative of the conference remains the same. With Julian Champagnie and Collin Gillespie being the two of the six All-Big East Team selections that are returning for the 2021-22 season, the Villanova Wildcats remain the team that the rest of the conference is chasing.

As it does across the NCAA Basketball, the transfer portal is playing a major part in forming the landscape of the Big East Conference.  Leading the Big East in lost players who would have been eligible is Marquette who has had six players transfer, three of whom were starters, while St. John’s lost two starters among the four who transferred out of New York City. As the transfer portal taketh away, it giveth as well, for the Red Storm have four arriving from the portal. three of which look to play significant roles.

With so many players departing and leaving behind quality minutes and starting positions as other players arrive and take those starting roles and minutes, player’s production is going to be in a state of flux as coaches determine the role and at times the new role each player needs to fulfill.

The 2021-22 season in the Big East will be filled with big change and big drama as key player’s production rise and fall, all hoping to be good enough to force the Big East to name three Player of the Year winners once again.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse