Busting Brackets

Who has the most all-time ACC Tournament wins?

Let's take a look at the history of the ACC Tournament and which teams have dominated since it began in 1954.

Mar 8, 2024; Greensboro, NC, USA; General view of the ACC logo.
Mar 8, 2024; Greensboro, NC, USA; General view of the ACC logo. / David Yeazell-USA TODAY Sports

The ACC Tournament is here and the favorites this year are as expected. UNC and Duke are the two top seeds this year yet again. UNC took the one-seed this year after the end of the season win over Duke on Saturday, March 9.

The ACC is home to the two blue blood basketball schools in North Carolina and Duke. This may not be the oldest rivalry in college basketball but is one of the best and fiercest in college basketball.

The state of North Carolina has run the ACC for years. The top four teams with the most ACC titles all come from North Carolina. Duke holds the most, followed by UNC, NC State, and Wake Forest. These four schools combined for 54 tournament titles since the conference began the tournament in 1954. That means that schools from North Carolina have won roughly 77 percent of the ACC Tournament titles.

Maryland was a founding member of the ACC but ended up leaving the conference in 2014 for the Big Ten Conference. They have three ACC Tournament titles, which is more than 10 other schools in the ACC.

The ACC was home to two some the most legendary coaches in the game, Mike Krzyzewski, otherwise known as Coach K, and Roy Williams. Coach K coached Duke to 15 of their 22 ACC titles and Williams only coached UNC to three of their 18 ACC titles.

When it comes to National Championships, ACC schools are no strangers to cutting down the net. An ACC school has won the National Championship 15 times, but only by a combination of five different schools.

This year is the 70th anniversary of the ACC Tournament started in 1954, but this will only be the 69th title game due to the tournament being canceled in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. So let's take a look at all the teams that have cut down the net after an ACC Tournament Championship win.


Number of Championships

Years Won



1960, 1963, 1964, 1966, 1978, 1980, 1986, 1988, 1992, 19999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2017, 2019, 2023

North Carolina


1957, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1972, 1975, 1977, 2979, 1981, 1982, 1989, 1991, 1994, 1997, 1998, 2007, 2008, 2016

NC State


1954, 1955, 1956, 1959, 1965, 1970, 1973, 1974, 1983, 1987

Wake Forest


1961, 1962, 1995, 1996

Georgia Tech


1985, 1990, 1993, 2021



1976, 2014, 2018

Maryland (left in 2014)


1958, 1984, 2004

South Carolina (left in 1971)



Florida State






Virginia Tech



Notre Dame



The ACC Tournament is already underway, but can watch all the action on the ACC Network.

Up Next: