Busting Brackets

Who has the most all-time Pac-12 Tournament wins?

As twelve teams storm to Las Vegas in hopes of cementing themselves as the forever Pac-12 champions, take a look back at the tournament's history over the years.

Pac-12 logo on the court
Pac-12 logo on the court / Ethan Miller/GettyImages

The last-ever Pac-12 Tournament is upon us. As fans across the country watch the final throwdown in Las Vegas, twelve teams are vying to become the forever Pac-12 champions.

The Arizona Wildcats and Washington State Cougars have cemented their bids for the NCAA Tournament while schools like Oregon and Colorado hope to secure their ticket to the Big Dance.

For the past eight seasons, the winners of their conference tournaments get an automatic spot in March Madness. With only two out of the twelve teams earning a spot so far, this is the last chance for the Pac-12 teams to enter their name in the tournament pool.

Eight different teams have gone home with the tournament title since the first conference tournament in 1987.

From 1990-2001, there was no Pac-12 (or back then, Pac-10) Tournament. From 1987-90 they held a 10-team postseason tournament which then halted for a decade. In October of 2000, the conference council “voted to institute a Pac-12 men’s basketball tournament following the 2002 season.”

For simplicity’s sake, I’m going to refer to the conference as the Pac-12 for an umbrella term – even if some of the titles occurred under the Pac-10 era.

Mar 11, 2023; Las Vegas, NV, USA; The Arizona Wildcats celebrate after defeating the UCLA Bruins.
Mar 11, 2023; Las Vegas, NV, USA; The Arizona Wildcats celebrate after defeating the UCLA Bruins. / Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports

Arizona leads the group with nine* Pac-12 Tournament titles, going back-to-back in 2022 and 2023. However, two of those conference titles were vacated due to NCAA violations and consequent sanctions.

The runners-up for most Pac-12 Tournament wins is Oregon with five, followed by UCLA with four and Washington with three.

Colorado, Oregon State, Stanford, and USC have each won the conference tournament once.

The Wildcats have won 17 regular season conference titles (including the two vacated years) and the Ducks have won eight (dating back to the early years of the then-Pac-8 conference).

UCLA leads the conference in regular season titles with 32, including an undefeated reign from 1966 through 1979.

The first game of the 2024 Pac-12 Men’s Basketball Tournament is set to tip off at 2 p.m. CT. Fans can tune into the Pac-12 Network throughout the week to catch the final tournament for the Conference of Champions.

Next. Final Four appearances. Which school has the most Final Four appearances?. dark