Busting Brackets

Every team that has qualified for an automatic bid to the 2024 NCAA Tournament

The winners of the 32 conference tournaments in men's college basketball automatically qualify for March Madness. Keep track of the teams that have already punched their ticket HERE:
Drake Bulldogs celebrate winning the Missouri Valley Conference
Drake Bulldogs celebrate winning the Missouri Valley Conference / Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

Of the 68-team field that makes up March Madness, 32 teams qualify for the big dance by winning their conference tournament and earning an automatic bid. So, while the rest of the country will be sweating out an at-large bid on Selection Sunday, these teams have already punched their ticket to the greatest postseason in sports. 

For the casual fan, March Madness begins on the first Thursday of the tournament, this year that will be March 21, but for the die-hard basketball fans March Madness is already well underway.

The first league to crown its champion was the Ohio Valley Conference, and conference tournament week will conclude, as it always does with the Big Ten Championship Game on Selection Sunday. This year, Selection Sunday for the men’s basketball NCAA Tournament is Sunday, March 17 at 6:00 p.m. ET. By then, only 36 spots will be available for an at-large bid to March Madness, so let’s go through all the teams that have won their conference tournaments and locked up a spot in the bracket.

Ohio Valley Conference: Morehead State Eagles 26-8 (14-4)

Big South: Longwood Lancers 21-13 (6-10)

Missouri Valley Conference: Drake Bulldogs 28-6 (16-4)

Atlantic Sun: Stetson Hatters 22-12 (11-5)

Sun Belt: James Madison Dukes 31-3 (15-3)

Southern Conference: Samford Bulldogs 29-5 (15-3)

Horizon League: Oakland Golden Grizzlies 23-11 (15-5)

Northeast Conference: Wagner Seahawks 16-15 (7-9)

Colonial Athletic League: Charleston Cougars 27-7 (15-3)

West Coast Conference: Saint Mary's Gaels 26-7 (15-1)

Summit League: South Dakota Jackrabbits 22-12 (12-4)

Southland: McNeese State Cowboys 30-3 (17-1)

Big Sky: Montana State Bobcats 17-17 (9-9)

Patriot League: Colgate Raiders 25-9 (16-2)

America East: Vermont Catamounts 28-6 (15-1)

Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference: Howard Bison 18-16 (9-5)

Southwestern Athletic Conference: Grambling State Tigers 20-14 (14-4)

Big 12: Iowa State Cyclones 27-7 (13-5)

Mountain West: New Mexico Lobos 26-9 (10-8)

Big East: UConn Huskies 31-3 (18-2)

Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference: Saint Peter's Peacocks 19-13 (12-8)

Mid-American Conference: Akron Zips 24-10 (13-5)

Conference USA: Western Kentucky Hilltoppers 22-11 (8-8)

Atlantic Coast Conference: NC State Wolfpack 22-14 (9-11)

Big West: Long Beach State Beach 21-14 (10-10)

Pac-12: Oregon Ducks 23-11 (12-8)

Western Athletic Conference: Grand Canyon Antelopes 29-4 (17-3)

Ivy League: Yale Bulldogs 22-9 (11-3)

Atlantic 10: Duquesne Dukes 24-11 (10-8)

Southeastern Conference: Auburn Tigers 27-7 (13-5)

American Athletic Conference: UAB Blazers 23-11 (12-6)

Big Ten: Illinois Fighting Illini 26-8 (14-6)